Hoodly Doodly!

So I finally stop ranting about it drunkenly, and now im soberly creating my blog! For those of you that don’t know what this is all about, let me explain.
It’s about thrift shopping. Oh, and vintage!
Those of you that participate in the fine sport of hunting down rare and cheap finds at these fine shops know its hard to find good ones, even though it’s very hit or miss. I like to venture out when I shop. Denton Thrift is amazing, but I want to see what else the world has to offer me. So here you have it, my adventures in thrifting! I hope to help point you in the right direction and also show off findings my various friends and I have made. So… here we go!

Today was my first day in adventure thrifting. The first one we ventured to was called Ahab Bowen in Dallas. It’s in the Oak Lawn area of Dallas, so when I pulled up i was expecting to just browse and not be able to afford much. It’s a cute little shop with feather boa’s blowing in the wind, and mannequins dressed in outrageous gowns. When you walk in you have to immediately choose right or left, well I chose right because that’s where the clothing was! To my surprise, much of the clothing was moderately priced. There were two racks of shirts, two for blazers, vests, jackets, overwear, etc., and a few racks of dressed to look at. We found a little bit of everything ranging from the 1960’s to 1990’s. This is what we saw:

 

On the left side they had a ton of jewelry, sunglasses, purses, and other accessories. The jewelry ranged from costume to practical, which is nice because i don’t like to look gaudy all the time.
 
 

They had some awesome cigarette cases:

I ended up buying this little number:

Unfortunately, Jennifer didn’t buy any of the polygamist dresses, but just know that they were great.

All in all, I had a good time and experience at Ahab Bowen. The owners didn’t follow us around, but they were helpful (even when I interrupted her lunch). I would really recommend it to the ladies that like more vintage fashion and don’t mind spending a few extra bucks on some cool finds. I noticed on the walls they’ve won numerous awards from local magazines and newsletters, I think rightfully so.

I’ll work on a grading summary. Still haven’t thought about that yet.

Ahab Bowen
2614 Boll St
Dallas, TX 75204

Ok the next place we ventured out to was Dolly Python. From the outside, i could already tell it was going to be fun looking around and boy was it ever! It was like walking into a room where all of our grandmothers trinkets and collectables go when no one loves them any more (the trinkets, not the grandmas!)
When you walk in, you’re greeted by the displays of knickknacks and the clothing. Of course we started at the clothes. Come on! The clothing racks were a little overwhelming at first, but you figure it out pretty quick, and you don’t really get bored with it either. There’s so much to see, my ADD went into overtime.
 
I didn’t get to look at all the clothes, but the rack of old t-shirts has some gems. I saw a few I considered buying, but it was a little pricey for my taste. Most of the good tee’s were around $18, but some of them were well worth it. Just take a look:
 

 

The clothing wasn’t even half of this place though. I saw a little of everything. Awesome 70’s decor, shot glasses, random baskets of photographs, clocks, typewriters (I WANT ONE!), old cameras, and even a Budweiser phone. That’s right:
 

Jennifer found my twin:

They also had a TON of awesome boots. I want them all!

I had more fun with all the randomness of the decor side. I definitely will be going back before I move so I can pick up a few things for my future home!

Dolly Python was really fun to walk around and have a giggle in. We saw many ridiculous things, and a lot of things I wish I could’ve given a home (Budweiser phone!). I will most certainly give the clothes another go-around soon, maybe if im ever busy at work again! Maybe if the world spins right, I’ll get my awesome cardigan too…

Dolly Python
1916 N Haskell Ave
Dallas, TX 75204

The next place was called Garland Road Thrift.

I had been here before, recommendation i found through Google (what the heck would I do without you?) so we tried it out a few weeks ago and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s HUGE! So many sections, but easy to navigate. The racks you definitely have to pick through, but it’s worth it I promise. We looked through the women’s stuff:
  

Jennifer almost bought that giraffe sweater. I’m sort of upset she didn’t now that I think about it.

And then I remembered I have guy friends and looked through the men’s wear so I could dress up an imaginary boyfriend. I ended up buying what I would dress my imaginary lover in. Yeah, it’s like that!

Oh, some one needs to go and get these LEATHER shorts. Just sayin…

We saw enough of these to contemplate starting a gang…

We also found the wedding dresses of our dreams. Look out world!
 
It also has a furniture area that looked pretty sweet. I didn’t need any at the time so I’m sorry to say I didn’t get to look around very well. Plus, some home boys were lounging about and it seemed wrong to disturb them.

 The were all ready for the holidays, old decorations and used costumes were out, so if you are on a budget I’d check it out. 

Garland Road Thrift also has one of the best men’s sections I’ve seen in a thrift store so far too. I highly recommend it.

These are the things we ended up buying there:
   

So once again, Garland Road thrift was definitely a hit!

Garland Road Thrift
10030 Garland Road
Dallas 75218

We made a pit stop to eat at Dodie’s. Pretty good, but the food was expensive. Cost me more than 6 shirts at my next thrift store.

We also pit stopped at the Halloween store that took over what used to be a Lula B’s, which was a second-hand store. Sad day, but the store was pretty awesome and decently priced for a Halloween shop. I bought fake blood for my costume.

Ok so the last stop was Value World Thrift.
 
This is also one that was recommended to my via internet and it’s by far my favorite. When you guys that see me on a weekly basis see my grandma shirts, this is where I get these little gems. Seriously, I think the most I have spent here was maybe $3 for a shirt. It’s kind of crazy when you walk in, it’s huge and it’s got a ton of little racks that you feel you have to skim through before you get to the big ones. This was my second time visiting and I found even more awesome silk shirts. Not only did I find some awesome shirts, I got even more prepared for winter:
    

This is what Jennifer purchased:

This didn’t fit me. I’m not too happy about it.

There’s a ton of things to rummage through, so if you get the chance, check out the glassware. I found some cool beer mugs there and a dove dish for my friend’s house the last time I was there. This time I had to talk myself out of buying awesome glassware, but that didn’t stop me from checking out the sweet VHS collection they had.
    

Oh yeah… totally bought this:

They also had some creepy old portraits. One day, I will own this:

Value World Thrift
2223 S. Buckner Blvd
Dallas 75227

It was a very successful day, I spent more than i intended, but hey, it was worth it! Jennifer and Sloane we both amazing shopping partners and I can’t wait for my next adventure. If you want to join us, I will be putting up posts of when my next trip will be. If you have any suggestions for me, or pictures of you in your favorite thrift finds, I would love to add them to the blog! I hope you at least find this blog a little informative!

Thanks for reading!
tierneymarie

Comments
3 Responses to “Hoodly Doodly!”
  1. Bekah says:

    Now this Minnesotan knows where to visit tis NOv.

  2. Vanessa says:

    WOOO!!! I love it! Dolly Python was one of my favorites in Dallas.

  3. Rosa says:

    When I started reading this blog I never thought it would be very interesting !! I like the whole concept and I’m now excited and I to go shopping!!

Leave a Reply

  • What’s It All About?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Authors:

